Formula One: Drivers confirm race numbers for 2014!

 In Formula1, Sport News, Sport Sponsorship, Sports Marketing

Embedded image permalinkFormula One’s governing body, the FIA, published the 2014 entry list for the upcoming season of racing. The list confirmed every driver announced so far, along with their chosen personal race number’s following a rule change for this season.

The entry list also confirmed that Max Chilton would be driving for Marussia, a day before the official announcement by the team.

Each driver was invited by the FIA to state his preferred race number, with the driver who finished higher in the 2013 standings being favored if the same number was requested more than once. The only drivers to have not had their number confirmed are Max Chilton and the Caterham drivers (as they have not been confirmed yet.)

It is important to note that Sebastian Vettel has two race numbers, as he will use #1 this season as he is the champion, but will use the #5 if/when he is not the champion. This is the number that he won his first championship with in 2010 and the number he used in Karting.

Here is the full entry list with the driver’s race numbers also listed:

Race #DriverNATTeamEngine
1 & 5Sebastian VettelDEUInfiniti Red Bull RacingRenault
3Daniel RicciardoAUSInfiniti Red Bull RacingRenault
44Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes GP Petronas F1Mercedes
6Nico RosbergDEUMercedes GP Petronas F1Mercedes
14Fernando AlonsoESPScuderia FerrariFerrari
7Kimi RaikkonenFINScuderia FerrariFerrari
8Romain GrosjeanFRALotus F1 TeamRenault
13Pastor MaldonadoVENLotus F1 TeamRenault
22Jenson ButtonGBRMcLaren MercedesMercedes
20Kevin MagnussenDENMcLaren MercedesMercedes
27Nico HulkenburgDEUSahara Force India F1 TeamMercedes
11Sergio PerezMEXSahara Force India F1 TeamMercedes
99Adrian SutilDEUSauber F1 TeamFerrari
21Esteban GutierrezMEXSauber F1 TeamFerrari
25Jean-Eric VergneFRAScuderia Toro RossoRenault
26Daniil KvyatRUSScuderia Toro RossoRenault
19Felipe MassaBRAWilliams Team F1Mercedes
77Valtteri BottasFINWilliams Team F1Mercedes
17Jules BianchiFRAMarussia F1 TeamFerrari
TBAMax ChiltonGBRMarussia F1 TeamFerrari
TBATBATBACaterham F1 TeamRenault
TBATBATBACaterham F1 TeamRenault

Several drivers have spoken about the reasons why they chose the numbers that they did.

A number of drivers picked their numbers based on the fact that they had used it in the early days of their racing careers. Fernando Alonso is one of them, who picked the #14 after winning the world karting championship with that number when he was 14 years old on the 14th day of that month. Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton also picked numbers based on Karting.

Nico Rosberg picked #6 based on the fact that his father used that number on his way to the 1982 F1 championship. Jenson Button picked #22 as that was the number that he won his F1 title with in 2009. It is unknown as to why Pastor Maldonado chose #13, a number previously unused in Formula One for superstitious reasons, but he and the other drivers on the grid will be hoping it isn’t an omen.

Kimi Raikkonen also had a reason for picking #7. He said that it is the number he raced with last season and he saw no need to change it.

By Jordan Groves
Formula 1 correspondent for RTR Sports Marketing
Follow Jordan on twitter at

Interested in Sponsorship? Time for a chat then!

Fill the form below to receive news and updates about the sponsorship industry and the world of RTR Sports.
Check your inbox: one of our consultants will be in touch in minutes.

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt