In Formula1, Sport News, Sport Sponsorship, Sports Marketing

Nico Rosberg has claimed pole position for the 2015 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, the final race of the season. The German led team-mate Lewis Hamilton by 4 tenths, meaning that he now taken 6 pole positions in a row. The result also means that Mercedes have now taken the most amount of front row lock-outs in a single season; with 15 now their tally this year.

Hamilton originally seemed to have the edge over his team-mate, leading both Q1 and Q2 before coming undone in the final session. Hamilton would go on to blame car setup issues for his 4 tenth gap to Rosberg, but there was no denying that Rosberg had put in a stunning lap to take pole with a 1’40.237.

3rd on the grid will be 2012 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix winner Kimi Raikkonen. The Finnish driver was 8 tenths off of Rosberg on pole, with just over a tenth separating him from 4th placed Sergio Perez; who continued to show that Force India had good pace. Daniel Ricciardo was just 3 tenths off of Perez in 5th place for Red Bull.

6th and 7th went to Valtteri Bottas and Nico Hulkenberg, with both separated by under a tenth of a second. Bottas will be gunning to catch Raikkonen in the race, with just 1 point between the two countryman in the championship standings. Valtteri’s team-mate Felipe Massa will start 8th ahead of Daniil Kvyat, with Carlos Sainz completing the top 10.

One of the highlights of the session was the shock elimination of Sebastian Vettel at the end of the first session. Ferrari team principal Maurizio Arrivabene would say after the session that the team made a ‘huge mistake’ after thinking that Vettel’s lap in Q1 was going to be good enough to get him through. They would be mistaken after a late improvement by McLaren’s Jenson Button that would push Vettel out of qualifying.

2015 Abu Dhabi grand prix grid:

1Nico RosbergMercedes1’40.237Q3
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes1’40.614Q3
3Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1’41.Q3
4Sergio PerezForce India1’41.Q3
5Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1’41.Q3
6Valtteri BottasWilliams1’41.Q3
7Nico HulkenbergForce India1’41.Q3
8Felipe MassaWilliams1’41.Q3
9Daniil KvyatRed Bull1’41.Q3
10Carlos SainzToro Rosso1’42.Q3
11Max VerstappenToro Rosso1’42.Q2
12Jenson ButtonMcLaren1’42.Q2
13Pastor MaldonadoLotus1’42.Q2
14Felipe NasrSauber1’43.Q2
15Romain GrosjeanLotusNo timeQ2
16Sebastian VettelFerrari1’42.941Q1
17Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1’43.187Q1
18Marcus EricssonSauber1’43.838Q1
19Roberto MerhiManor1’47.434Q1
20Will Stevens*Manor1’46.297Q1

*Grid penalty for Will Stevens

Interested in Sponsorship? Time for a chat then!

Fill the form below to receive news and updates about the sponsorship industry and the world of RTR Sports.
Check your inbox: one of our consultants will be in touch in minutes.

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt